Awards and Honours Questions and Answers Part-7

1. Narendra Kohli has been recently chosen for the award of . . . . . . . . . ?
a) Saraswati Samman, 2012
b) Vyas Samman, 2012
c) Jnanpith Award 2012
d) None of these

Answer: b
Explanation: Narendra Kohli won Vyas Samman, 2012.

2. The 'Cannes Award' is given for excellence in which of the following field?
a) Literature
b) Films
c) Journalism
d) Economics

Answer: b
Explanation: The 'Cannes Award' is given for excellence in Films.

3. Moortidevi Award is given annually in which of the following fields?
a) Literature
b) Films
c) Journalism
d) Music

Answer: a
Explanation: The Moorti Devi Award is an annual literary award in India presented by the Bharatiya Jnanpith organization for a work which emphasizes Indian philosophy and culture.

4. Who was the first posthumous recipient of Bharat Ratna?
a) M. G. Ramachandran
b) B. R. Ambedkar
c) K. Kamraj
d) Lal Bahadur Shastri

Answer: d
Explanation: The 1954 statutes did not allow posthumous awards, but this was subsequently modified in the January 1955 statute, and Lal Bahadur Shastri became the first recipient to be honoured posthumously in 1966.

5. Who among the following has been awarded the Officer of the Legion of Honour, the highest civilian distinction of the Government of France??
a) N. R. Narayana Murthy
b) Ratan Tata
c) K. M. Birla
d) Mukesh Ambani

Answer: a
Explanation: No explanation is given for this question

6. President Pranab Mukherjee on 7 October 2014 presented the Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award for excellence in Public Administration. Academics and Management for the year 2014 to
a) V. Sampath
b) Dr. A. S. Pillai
c) Arvind Mayaram
d) Ajit Dobhal

Answer: b
Explanation: No explanation is given for this question

7. Which of the following is the second highest gallantry award in India?
a) Vir Chakra
b) Mahavir Chakra
c) Ashok Chakra
d) Shaurya Chakra

Answer: b
Explanation: Maha Vir Chakra is the second highest military decoration in India and is awarded for acts of conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy, whether on land, at sea or in the air.

8. Name the field in which M. R. Poovamma has won an award in 2015?
a) Carnatic Music
b) Tamil Literature
c) Athletics
d) Wrestling

Answer: c
Explanation: M. R. Poovamma was winner of the 2015 Arjuna award for her contributions in the field of athletics.

9. Maha Chakri Sirindhorn who has been conferred with first "World Sanskrit Award" belong to which country?
a) Pakistan
b) Thailand
c) Australia
d) China

Answer: b
Explanation: Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn of Thailand has been conferred the first 'World Sanskrit Award' for her contribution towards promotion of the language.

10. Who was the first recipient of Dronacharya Award in 1985?
a) O. M. Nambiar
b) Om Prakash Bhardwaj
c) B. B. Bhagwat
d) All of them

Answer: d
Explanation: O. M. Nambiar, Om Prakash Bhardwaj and B. B. Bhagwat were the first recipient of Dronacharya Award in 1985.